Alice Munro


alice-munroAlice Munro

Alice Ann Munro (/ˈælɨs ˌæn mʌnˈr/, née Laidlaw /ˈldlɔː/; born 10 July 1931) is a Canadian short story writer and Nobel Prize winner. Munro’s work has been described as having revolutionized the architecture of short stories, especially in its tendency to move forward and backward in time. Her stories have been said to “embed more than announce, reveal more than parade.”

Munro’s fiction is most often set in her native Huron County in southwestern Ontario. Her stories explore human complexities in an uncomplicated prose style. Munro’s writing has established her as “one of our greatest contemporary writers of fiction,” or, as Cynthia Ozickput it, “our Chekhov.” Munro is the recipient of many literary accolades, including the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature for her work as “master of the contemporary short story”, and the 2009 Man Booker International Prize for her lifetime body of work. She is also a three-time winner of Canada’s Governor General’s Award for fiction and was the recipient of the Writers’ Trust of Canada‘s 1996 Marian Engel Award, as well as the 2004 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for Runaway.


Original short-story collections

Short-story compilations

  • Selected Stories (later retitled Selected Stories 1968-1994) – 1996
  • No Love Lost – 2003
  • Vintage Munro – 2004
  • Alice Munro’s Best: A Selection of Stories – Toronto 2006/ Carried Away: A Selection of Stories – New York 2006; both with an introduction by Margaret Atwood
  • New Selected Stories – 2011
  • Lying Under the Apple Tree. New Selected Stories, 434 pages, 15 stories, c Alice Munro 2011, Vintage, London 2014, ISBN 978-0-0995-9377-5 (paperback)
  • Family Furnishings: Selected Stories 1995-2014 – 2014


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.